The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan+

lightning-thiefThe Lightning Thief,  By Rick Riordan+

This   is an ancient Greek story that is put in modern times. For example, Mt. Olympus is over the Empire State Building. Mount Tam is over the San Diego Pier. And the underworld entrance is also in San Diego Pier. Percy Jackson is the main character. He gets kicked out of every school every year. Percy is on a vacation with his mother when he is attacked by a monster. His friend Annabeth brings him to Camp Half-blood where he meets many mythic characters and demi-gods and they send him on a quest. I really loved the book because it is exciting and you really love the characters.

Bottom line: It does have fights and deaths. But it is a really good book and you will love it. So yeah, I recommend it. I think this book is for  4th or 5th graders. If you are under the ages I think would be good I would ask my mom to look at it before you do.

Rating: 🙂

4 thoughts on “The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan+

  1. This is a good review, Sierra, and I think you are wise in making the comment about asking one’s mom about reading it if you are younger than 4th or 5th grade. Sometimes just because we can understand the words in a book (or a blog) doesn’t mean we are ready to hear what is being said. I appreciate you giving that good advice and love your new blogspot!

  2. I really like your review on lightening thief. Aleah has been encouraging me to read it! I’m glad you two love to read!!!! Love, Aleah’s mom!

  3. For years this book has been one of my favorites, and even now as a 20 year old I can still find myself absorbed in this story. I agree with you that there is quite a bit of fighting and death, especially as the series progresses, but I think it is this very since of life that makes these books so thrilling.

Leave a Reply

